Mapping

There was the taxi driver ajusshi in Seoul who schooled me on how to drive in Korea, despite my frantic backseat driving in Korean.

There was the time when Ben and I tried ordering ketchup in a restaurant in Porto, only to have the waiter bring us a drink that I’m almost certain was cheap Portuguese Super Bock beer mixed with port wine.

There was sipping salmiakkikossu, Finnish licorice liquor, in Turku with members of the Turku Philharmonic Orchestra on a cold night in December and listening to them reminisce about recording the Sibelius symphonies with Osmo Vänskä and Leif Segerstam

There was the nice lady in a cafe in Copenhagen who didn’t charge me for my coffee because she didn’t have any change. She called it my “present from the Danish people.”

And there was the guy at the ice cream stand near the Dom in Göttingen who said, “Where in America are you from!?” even though I ordered in German.

Countries visited... or places that the zombie apocalypse has spread?

My map of countries  I’ve visited… or places that the zombie apocalypse has spread?

It’s no secret among my friends and family that I’ve contracted the Travel Bug. If music is my muse, travel is my mistress. Under the pretext of working I globe-trot. I have a serious case of wanderlust, compounded by my eternal fascination of languages, my appetite for trying new foods, and my burgeoning interest in photography.

Now that I’m home in Baltimore for the time being, I might not be doing as much international travel but I’d finally like to take the time to write about some of the experiences I’ve had and the people I met during my time traveling and living abroad these past few years. And maybe on the way I’ll discover a little bit of my own country too…

Leave a Reply

